Biografie

Von Straubing über Kassel nach Hollywood

Geboren 1965 in Straubing, beschäftigte ich mich bereits im jungen Alter mit dem Basteln und Malen und erhielt Bundespreise durch die Teilnahme an Mal-Wettbewerben.

 

1982 entdeckte ich das Animationsfilmemachen. Als ich 1988 mein Studium der Animation bei Professor Paul Driessen an der Kasseler Kunsthochschule begann, hatte ich bereits neun Filme auf Super-8 und einen auf 16mm produziert. Diese Filme erhielten zahlreiche Auszeichnungen auf internationalen, nicht-professionellen Filmfestivals.

 

Während des Studiums machte ich sechs weitere Filme. Der zusammen mit Tyron Montgomery 1996 produzierte Stop-Motion-Film QUEST erhielt 1997 den OSCAR® in Hollywood für den besten animierten Kurzfilm des Vorjahres.

 

Nach meinem künstlerischen Hochschulabschluss in 1999 gründete ich mit zwei Partnern das Animationsstudio „Lichthof, Film & Animation“ in Kassel und produzierte Animationsfilme für Werbeagenturen, Fernsehen und Musiklabels.

 

Seit 2009 befasse ich mich wieder verstärkt mit meinen eigenen künstlerischen Animationsfilmprojekten.

 

Ich leite seit 1996 Animationsworkshops für Erwachsene und Jugendliche, präsentiere meine Kurzfilme in meiner Trickfilm-Show, initiiere The Spinning Animation Shows mit Zoetropen oder gestalte Ausstellungen zu meinen Produktionen.

 

Durch die Produktion von Animationsfilmen mit unterschiedlichen technischen Umsetzungen umfasst mein Erfahrungsschatz Zeichentrick, Stop-Motion, Pixilation, experimentelle Tuscheanimation und 3D-Computeranimation.

 

Ich lebe und arbeite in Kassel.

 

Hier geht’s zu meinen Interviews .

Biography

From Straubing via Kassel to Hollywood

Born in 1965 in Straubing, I did handicrafts and paintings from a young age and received federal prizes in painting competitions.

 

In 1982 I discovered animation filmmaking. By the time I began studying animation with Professor Paul Driessen at the Kassel College of Art in 1988, I had already produced nine films on Super-8 and one on 16mm. These films received numerous awards at international, non-professional film festivals.

 

During my studies I made six other films. The stop-motion film QUEST, produced together with Tyron Montgomery in 1996, received the OSCAR® in Hollywood in 1997 for the best animated short film of the previous year.

 

I was also awarded the Goethe Plaque of the State of Hesse ‘for special merits to the cultural life of the state’ and the Honorary Award of the Federal Association of Film and AV Producers ‘for one of the most promising young German animated filmmakers’.

 

Having received my artistic university degree in 1999 I founded the animation studio “Lichthof, Film & Animation” in Kassel with two partners and produced animated films for advertising agencies, television and music labels.

 

Since 2009 I have been focusing more on my own artistic animation film projects.

 

I have been teaching animation workshops for adults and young people since 1996. In my Trickfilm-Show I present my short films. I also initiate my The Spinning Animation Show with Zoetropes or create exhibitions for my productions.

 

Due to the production of animated films with different technical implementations, my range of experience includes cartoon animation, stop-motion, pixilation, experimental ink animation and 3D-computer animation.

 

I live and work in Kassel.

 

 

Click here for my interviews.